top of page
Rhonda Moon

Rhonda Moon

Rhonda is the COO of one of the UK's largest pension funds

  • Location: London, UK 

  • Title: COO 

  • Company: National Grid UK Pension Scheme 

  • Sector: Pensions 

  • Degree: Bachelor of Management Studies | University of Waikato (New Zealand)

How does your usual day look like?

I tend to be an early riser so I know this is not for everyone………my normal day commences at 5.15am. I use these early hours as “me” time where I do some Duolingo on the train, listen / read up on the news and message my friends and family in the Antipodes.

To be honest, my absolute favourite part of the day is savouring my first sip of morning coffee at my preferred coffee shop – I linger there for an hour or so, doing emails and generally planning for the day before heading to the office.

Every day, a key activity is a quick morning catch up with my other senior colleagues to align thinking on issues and priorities. Generally, I have two or three other planned meetings throughout the day with suppliers, staff members, trustees or other pension professionals.

The remainder of my day can then be as expected whereby I can focus on my key deliverables, or it takes a random walk as I am required to manage unexpected issues that have arisen.

I tend to leave the office around 5, with a view that I can do some work from home if needs be. My end of day generally consists of a bit of exercise, dinner, reading and a bit of telly too, or attending private social events every now and then. I like to be in bed by 10.30.

What are the things you like the most about your job?

  • I particularly enjoy learning about new initiatives and developing ways on how this can assist what we do. This includes being involved in strategy across the organisation.

  • I have a natural passion for good governance and risk management. My role allows me to deliver change in these areas.

  • I like the variety of work that I am involved in which provides with the opportunity to work with some very clever and technical people.

  • I like the way Covid has made flexible working an acceptable phrase. The freedom to work from home as well as the office works well and makes for a happier team (which includes me).

What are some of the skills you utilise the most in your day-to-day?

Analytical, strategic thinking, problem solving, empathy, leadership, mentoring, influencing.

What was one of your happiest days in your career and why?

Getting my first job following a 3 year maternity break which suited my family commitments – short commute, flexible hours but still challenging.

What is something you had to learn to become better at your job?

One of my biggest learnings was to only fight the fires that needed fighting. My natural tendency is to try and do everything – this can be counter productive to achieving the more important goals.

How did you get to become a COO?

I tend to say this is down to luck or “right place at the right time”. However, the older I get, I begin to realise that I have a strong sense of ownership and accountability in everything I do, and I display a lot of energy and passion – these are all strong attributes for a COO. I was fortunate these were recognised, and I was rewarded for them.

What's the one piece of career advice you have for anyone interested in becoming a COO?

Don’t go there if being popular is high on your wish list! Setting goals has its benefits but be flexible too.

What's your number one productivity hack / when or how are you most effective?

My ideas to solve problems tend to evolve when I am out jogging. My best time to focus is working from home and discipline myself to do one task at a time.

What makes you gracefullyBOLD?

My career has evolved, it was never planned, but whilst working, I managed family, work, personal life (and enjoyed doing so) but never had time for me. Now I have less of these family commitments, I have decided to take control of me. I make the choices in my life. I try new experiences.

How do you spend your weekends or downtimes?

Walk the dog, running, yoga, ride the bike (or tandem). Go for coffees. Reading. My latest venture is learning to sail.

How do you deal with stress and build resilience?

Exercise! And ensure I take breaks / holidays.

What would have been your alternative career path or alternative University degree?


What is your preferred social media platform?


One word answers & quick fire round. Let's go!

  • Your superpower: Tenacity.

  • Favourite restaurant: Brie and Bones, Norwich.

  • Favourite fashion brand: Levis.

  • Favourite beauty product: Wild Sage + Co, natural soaps.

  • Book recommendation: A Whole Life by Robert Seethaler.

  • Next holiday destination: Ghent, Belgium.

  • Your hobby: Jigsaw puzzles.

  • Last thing you learnt: Sailing - Points of Sail.

Thank you Rhonda for sharing your journey & wisdom with us!

Subscribe to Day-in-The-Life

In our weekly Day in the Life ('DITL') interview series we bring you inspiring stories of career success, learnings and personal growth. Uncover unique career journeys,  get to know great companies, and benefit from valuable career lessons conveniently into your inbox every Wednesday.

bottom of page